I already posted the video on how to do high speed photography using the arduino. However I found this picture here which shows how you specifically hook this up since the video is a bit confusing. This system uses a sound sensor to trigger the flash to go off and take the picture.

However, I have more recently found another high-speed system with the arduino. Though this one seems a bit unstable it was interesting to look at. It uses a microphone instead of a sound sensor to trigger the flash. You can see it here . This is explained in a better version on this site. It includes an extremely useful diagram seen here. This also lead me to the most amazing website of all time DIYPhotography.net! I’m currently obsessed. 

Both of these systems use sound as the trigger. However I kinda wanted to use a touch sensor so I could drop something and have the picture taken at the exact moment of contact. So I found this video which I am 100% going to try. It is so simple, doesn’t even use an arduino. However I think it would still be use ful to hook this system up to the arduino so that I could control the room’s lighting and the shutter of the camera.

I’m really excited to try out this touch sensor as well as the sound sensors for photography asap. Now that I’m graduating I will have much more time…I hope. I’ve been doing a lot of research on it so the next step is to try it out.

Posted by Katie Neff